Friday, March 27, 2015

Depeche Mode's Martin Gore unveils video from his solo album

Martin Gore has released an animated video for “Europa Hymn,” directed by London based collective M-I-E. Watch it HERE.
The song is taken from MG by MG, the 16-track electronic instrumental album, out April 28 on Mute. A soundtrack to an emotional and mysterious film of your own design, the album was written and produced by Martin Gore at his home studio in Santa Barbara.
MG came to fruition following the final dates of Depeche Mode’s Delta Machine tour. An entire instrumental album had been in his thoughts for some time, particularly since he has been writing instrumentals for Depeche Mode since 1981.
“I wanted to keep the music very electronic, very filmic and give it an almost sci-fi like quality,” Martin explains. “Music is a necessity for me. I go into the studio at least 5 days a week, every week, so once I had the idea and the template, the process was quick and fun.”
From the Angelo Badalmenti-like atmosphere of ‘Elk’ to the industrial electro swagger of ‘Brink,’ it landscapes a unique and arresting vision.After finishing recording MG, Martin asked Q to mix it, which seemed a perfectly natural choice as he previously mixed VCMG, Martin Gore and Vince Clarke’s 2012 album, SSSS.
Explaining the decision to release the album under the acronym, MG, Gore says, “As the album is very electronic and has no vocals, I felt it deserved another persona so decided to carry on the MG concept from the VCMG album.”
MG showcases another side to this multi-talented musician. “As a songwriter, I am aware of the power of words,” Martin admits. “Especially when they are juxtaposed in the right way with chords and melody. I am also aware of the power of pure music and the emotions that can be created by musical atmospheres and that is what I wanted to capture with this project.”

Track listing:
1. Pinking
2. Swanning
3. Exalt
4. Elk
5. Brink
6. Europa Hymn
7. Creeper
8. Spiral
9. Stealth
10. Hum
11. Islet
12. Crowly
13. Trysting
14. Southerly
15. Featherlight
16. Blade
Pre-Order Links: iTunes | CD | LP

No comments: