Monday, February 24, 2014

Eagle Rock Entertainment news

Some interesting titles are on the way. I'm especially interested in The Who since I reviewed Roger Daltrey live last year. Read more from the press release...

Eagle Rock Entertainment will release The Who’s Tommy. Sensation – The Story Of Tommy on DVD, Blu-ray, and digital formats on March 11.
Fully supported and endorsed by The Who, Sensation – The Story Of Tommy explores the background, creation, and impact of this seminal album. Through brand new interviews, the film unveils the history and cultural impact of Tommy through new interviews with Pete Townshend and Roger Daltrey, archive interviews with the late John Entwistle, contributions from engineer Bob Pridden, artwork creator Mike McInnerney, plus others involved in the making of the album, as well as journalists who assess the album’s historic and cultural impact.
Originally aired on BBC TV in August 2013, this version includes additional material not featured in the TV broadcast, as well as a bonus 33-minute feature from the 1969 German TV show “Beat Club.” This feature, which includes previously unreleased footage, includes tracks from the album and interviews with band members.
The direct-to-consumer store for Sensation – The Making Of Tommy is now live at, which includes exclusive bundles with the DVD or Blu-ray, T-shirt, and a 18X24 poster. Fans have until February 20 at 12:00PM EST to pre-order one of several bundles, and have his or her name included on the poster.
For a sneak peak of Sensation – The Making Of Tommy, here are some video clips:
“Making People Feel” -
“Screening Interview” -

On March 25, dual-film SD Blu-rays - Joni Mitchell’s Woman Of Heart And Mind + Painting With Words And Music and Lou Reed’s Classic Albums: Transformer + Live At Montreux 2000 - will be re-issued in upscaled standard definition with uncompressed stereo and DTS-HD Master Audio surround sound. 
The Woman Of Heart And Mind documentary tells the story of Mitchell's life and career. It is paired with the concert film Painting With Words And Music, captured at Los Angeles’ Warner’s Lot, in a specially set up auditorium displaying a gallery of her own paintings.
Filmed in 1998, Mitchell plays in the round with a small band, performing tracks from across her career, like “Big Yellow Taxi,” “Crazy Cries Of Love,” and “Amelia.”
Classic Albums: Transformer, part of Eagle Rock’s documentary series, explores the creation and recording of Reed’s legendary Transformer album through interviews with those involved, archive footage, and meticulous in-studio breakdowns of the songs.
Live At Montreux is mostly comprised of songs from his 2000 album Ecstasy, but also includes fan favorites like “Perfect Day” and “Dirty Blvd.” On this performance, Reed is backed by his longtime band Mike Rathke (guitar), Tony “Thunder” Smith (drums), and Fernando Saunders (bass).
These two SD Blu-rays continue Eagle Rock’s recent catalog re-issues of classic music films with enhanced video and sound. The label has also recently released SD Blu-rays of The Bee Gees’ One Night Only and The Scorpions’ Moment Of Glory.
Track Listing:
Joni Mitchell - Painting With Words & Music:
1.) Big Yellow Taxi
2.) Just Like This Train
3.) Night Ride Home
4.) Crazy Cries Of Love
5.) Harry’s House
6.) Black Crow
7.) Amelia
8.) Hejira
9.) Sex Kills
10.) The Magdelene Laundries
11.) Moon At The Window
12.) Facelift
13.) Why Do Fools Fall In Love
14.) Trouble Man
15.) Nothing Can Be Done
16.) Song For Sharon
17.) Woodstock
18.) Dream Land
Lou Reed - Live At Montreux 2000:
1.) Paranoia Key Of E
2.) Turn To Me
3.) Modern Dance
4.) Ecstasy
5.) Small Town
6.) Future Farmers Of America
7.) Turning Time Around
8.) Romeo Had Juliette
9.) Riptide
10.) Rock Minuet
11.) Mystic Child
12.) Tatters
13.) Twilight
14.) Dirty Blvd.
15.) Dime Store Mystery
16.) Perfect Day

No comments: