Wednesday, November 13, 2013

Shelby Lynne news

Shelby Lynne will release Thanks, a new five-song EP (physical and digital), on Dec. 10 through EVERSO Records, the independent label she founded in 2010. See below for track listing.

"As a musician, these songs are a way to express my love and gratitude to the universe and to all of the music appreciating souls out there for the friendship and fellowship that music brings us...all in the name of love and sharing," she says.

"Southern blues music and gospel music go raising optional," adds Lynne. "Sam Cooke, Otis Redding and James Brown came straight out of the Georgia churches...and went straight onto the charts singing the blues that came from gospel revivals across the south. Maybe it's in the water, but I feel a certain freedom when I sing spirituals."

The new video for "Call Me Up," directed by Jason Harter and performed live during the Thanks sessions, is online now. 

Lynne recorded Thanks at EVERSO Studio in Palm Desert, CA with co-producer Ben Peeler, who also played lap steel and guitars and contributed background vocals. In addition, the EP features Maxine Waters on piano and vocals, Michael Jerome on drums/percussion and Ed Maxwell on upright and electric bass, Wurlitzer, Moog and background vocals.

As label chief of EVERSO Records, Lynne included two additional full-length works in 2012's deluxe edition of Revelation Road: Live At McCabe's, which marked her first-ever live album, plus the DVD Live in London.

She launched EVERSO with a pair of 2010 releases - Tears, Lies And Alibis, a Top 10 hit at Americana radio, and Merry Christmas.  

Track Listing

1. Call Me Up
2. Forevermore
3. Walkin'
4. This Road I'm On
5. Thanks

No comments: