Monday, September 17, 2012

Steve Hackett's 'Genesis Revisited II' album details

Steve Hackett's forthcoming album Genesis Revisited II will be released on Oct. 22 (InsideOut Music).

Reinterpreting Genesis classics from 1971-1977, the guitarist is the first ex-member to re-record and tour that part of the band's material.

He enlisted several special guests to give the songs a new edge. The line-up includes vocalists Steven Wilson (Porcupine Tree), Mikael Akerfeldt (Opeth), Francis Dunnery, John Wetton (ASIA) and Nik Kershaw. Steve Rothery (Marillion) is among those sharing guitar duties. 

"It's a project of Wagnerian proportions," said Hackett. "For the most part, I've followed the arrangements we had first time around, but each vocalist has added their own character."  See below for the complete track listing. 

Genesis Revisited II will be available as a 2-disc digipak. A world tour in support of the new album will be announced shortly.

In 2010, Steve Hackett was inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall Of Fame alongside Genesis bandmates from the classic line-up: Peter Gabriel, Phil Collins, Tony Banks and Mike Rutherford.

For more than three decades, Steve Hackett has been known for his innovative tone and extraordinary versatility as a guitarist and composer. He helped define Genesis' sound as lead guitarist in the classic line-up and went on to have a highly-successful career as a solo artist, and also as part of '80s supergroup GTR with Steve Howe (Asia, Yes).

Track listing:

   Disc 1

  Disc 2

1. Chamber Of 32 Doors

1.Blood On The Rooftops

2. Horizons

2.The Return Of The Giant Hogweed

3. Supper'sReady

3. Entangled

4. TheLamia

4.Eleventh Earl Of Mar

5.Dancing With The Moonlit Knight


   6. Fly On A Windshield
6.Unquiet Slumbers For TheSleepers...

7. Broadway Melody of1974

7.InT hat Quiet Earth

8. The Musical Box

8. Afterglow

9. Can-Utility And The Coastliners
9. A Tower Struck Down

10.Please Don't Touch

10.Camino Royale

11.Shadow Of The Hierophant

No comments: