Thursday, July 26, 2012

Sam Phillips 'Martinis' reissue out now

I tend to associate Phillips music with LA's much-missed Adult Alternative station 101.9 FM, which used to play her often during the '90s. Read more about the reissue...
A newly remastered edition of Sam Phillips' 1994 effort Martinis & Bikinis is out now on CD - and for the first time ever on limited edition white vinyl - via Omnivore Recordings.

Both editions will feature four bonus tracks: “I Need Love (with The Section Quartet),” “Black Sky (Version 2),” a new recording of “Strawberry Road (2012 Version)” and a remix of “Fighting with Fire,” which first appeared on the compilation Zero Zero Zero in 1998.

Produced by then husband T Bone Burnett, with arrangements by Van Dyke Parks, the  Martinis cast of musicians included XTC’s Colin Moulding, R.E.M.’s Peter Buck, Marvin Etzioni and Don Heffington from Lone Justice, Benmont Tench, Marc Ribot and Mickey Curry. The album earned a Grammy nomination in 1994.

Phillips recounted, "it was my first CD-only release; it was never released on vinyl. Because we recorded to analog tape and because it's my favorite cover art of all my own albums, I am happy to finally have a vinyl version available -- in shiny white vinyl no less!"

Acclaimed songwriter/singer Sam Phillips began her career writing and recording six albums with producer Burnett. In 2000, she composed and performed the score to Gilmore Girls, with the series running for seven years.

Recently, Phillips devised an innovative way to release her music directly to her fans by creating the Long Play subscription project through her website (, during which she recorded five EPs as well as a full-length album, for digital-only release to subscribers.

She would go on to finish the project by releasing the Solid State physical album, a sampling from the Long Play material for her listeners who desired to own a physical CD. While composing and performing the music for the upcoming ABC Family television series Bunheads, Phillips is currently putting the finishing touches to her ninth full-length release.

Sam Phillips Martinis & Bikinis CD/2LP track listing:
1)     Love and Kisses
2)     Signposts
3)     Same Rain
4)     Baby I Can’t Please You
5)     Circle of Fire
6)     Strawberry Road
7)     When I Fall
8)     Same Changes
9)     Black Sky
10)  Fighting with Fire
11)  I Need Love
12)  Wheel of the Broken Voice
13)  Gimme Some Truth
Bonus tracks:
14)  I Need Love (with The Section Quartet) *
15)  Fighting with Fire (remix) **
16)  Black Sky (Version 2) *
17)  Strawberry Road (2012 Version) *

* previously unissued on CD and LP
** previously unissued on LP

No comments: