Thursday, July 26, 2012

Mavericks set date for reunion album

photo by Justin Nolan Key
When I caught the band at this year's Stagecoach Festival, it was one of the standout performances [see my review elsewhere on this blog].

A few of these songs were debuted live then and the 'Suited and Ready' EP provided a great taster. I look forward to hearing how the rest of the new material came out..

Grammy winning country/rock group The Mavericks have revealed the songs and cover art for their album In Time, slated for Sept. 25 (Valory Music Company). Lead singer Raul Malo and Niko Bolas (Neil Young) produced.

“The idea that we came together and made this record is a testament to faith, fate, and chance. All three were essential in the making of In Time. In turn, this is the record we are most proud of," said Malo.

Initially formed in 1989, the self-proclaimed “most interesting band in the world” have placed more than a dozen songs on the Billboard country charts, including the hits “All You Ever Do Is Bring Me Down,” “Here Comes The Rain” and “Dance The Night Away.”

Their honors include a Grammy for Best Country Performance by a Duo or Group With Vocal as well as ACM Awards for Top New Vocal Group and Top Vocal Group. In 2003, members pursued other musical interests but recently reunited.

1. Back In Your Arms Again (Raul Malo, Gary Nicholson, Seth Walker)
2. Lies (Raul Malo, Al Anderson, Bob DiPiero)
3. Born To Be Blue (Raul Malo, James House)
4. Come Unto Me (Raul Malo)
5. In Another’s Arms (Raul Malo)
6. Fall Apart (Raul Malo)
7. That’s Not My Name (Raul Malo, Wally Wilson)
8. Amsterdam Moon (Raul Malo)
9. As Long As There’s Loving Tonight (Raul Malo, Alan Miller, Seth Walker)
10. Call Me When You Get To Heaven (Raul Malo)

No comments: