Monday, November 7, 2011

Hold Steady leader's solo debut set for early '12

Craig Finn, frontman of The Hold Steady, has confirmed the Jan. 24 release of his debut solo album, 'Clear Heart Full Eyes,' on Vagrant Records.

Earlier this year, Finn challenged himself to write a new song every day in his Brooklyn apartment. "I had written a bunch of songs that were outside of the norm for The Hold Steady, a little quieter and perhaps more narrative," says Finn. "I wanted to gain some experience and insight into the process of making a record by working with new people."

Produced by Mike McCarthy (Spoon, Trail of Dead), the album's title, according to Finn, is "a juxtaposed reference to 'Friday Night Lights,' a TV show that excited and moved me and also happened in Texas. Further, 'Clear Heart' signifies honesty and transparency, and 'Full Eyes' suggests experience."

Read Craig Finn's account of recording the album here:

'Clear Heart Full Eyes' Tracklist:
1). Apollo Bay
2). When No One's Watching
3). No Future
4). New Friend Jesus
5). Jackson
6). Terrified Eyes
7). Western Pier
8). Honolulu Blues
9). Rented Room
10). Balcony
11). Not Much Left Of Us

No comments: