Wednesday, November 9, 2011

Cure live album due next month

On Dec. 6, The Cure: Bestival Live 2011, a live recording of the band's career-spanning set performed at Bestival this past September, arrives in stores.

The double album, which is also available as a digital download, is made up of 32 Cure classics. Of the live album, Robert Smith of The Cure said in a statement: “We had such a great time in the Isle of Wight at Bestival, that we wanted to release this show as a way of thanking fans and islanders alike. Bestival is the best!” 

According to the UK's Guardian newspaper, the concert featured keyboardist Roger O'Donnell for the three-hour set and the live album marks the group's first official live record since 1993. It is also the first time The Cure have put out a recording of a complete single concert.

Trustworthy music blog Slicing Eyeballs reports the band plans to issue a DVD from their summer gigs at the Sydney Opera House, which included O'Donnell, the return of Lol Tolhurst and a four-hour set.

All proceeds from the album go to the Isle of Wight Youth Trust. The charitable organization offers counseling, advice, information and support services to people age 25 and under on the Isle of Wight (the home of Bestival).

Track listing:
CD 1
01. Plainsong
02. Open
03. Fascination Street
04. A Night Like This
05. The End of the World
06. Lovesong
07. Just Like Heaven
08. The Only One
09. The Walk
10. Push
11. Friday I’m In Love
12. Inbetween Days
13. Play For Today
14. A Forest
15. Primary
16. Shake Dog Shake

CD 2
01. The Hungry Ghost
02. 100 Years
03. End
04. Disintegration
05. Lullaby
06. The Lovecats
07. The Caterpillar
08. Close to Me
09. Hot Hot Hot!!!
10. Let’s Go to Bed
11. Why Can’t I Be You?
12. Boys Don’t Cry
13. Jumping Someone Else’s Train
14. Grinding Halt
15. 10:15 Saturday Night
16. Killing An Arab

No comments: