Friday, September 23, 2011

Journey's 'Greatest Hits, Vol. 2' due in November

When I caught the current lineup of Journey in concert over the summer (see my review elsewhere on this blog), they were amazing. I look forward to hearing some of these tracks again...

Greatest Hits Vol. 2, a new collection of original recordings by the multi-platinum band Journey will be available as a single CD, digital download and special gatefold double-vinyl edition (which includes a code for a free digital download of the vinyl remastered album), available starting Nov. 1.

This new Columbia/Legacy package, spans singles and album tracks recorded between 1978 and 1996. Journey's original Greatest Hits collection is one of the top-selling American rock albums of all time with worldwide sales in excess of 25 million.

In conjunction with the double-LP version of Vol. 2, the original Hits collection will also be issued as a gatefold double-vinyl edition on the same date (which also includes a code for a free digital download of the vinyl remastered album).  

When asked about his experience in the remastering back to vinyl of the original recordings of the Greatest Hits and the new Vol. 2, former lead singer Steve Perry replied, "I truly forgot how sonically exciting and just plain better these Journey tracks sound back where they originally lived...on vinyl. The stereo separation, the center imaging and the sonic depth of the tracks themselves is more true to what we all loved about these original final mixes. All the instruments and voices, to me personally, sound so damn good that all I want to do is reach for the volume and turn it up!"

"I'm very excited to be releasing this compilation," said founding guitarist Neal Schon. "Many of these songs were written in our earlier days by Steve Perry and myself, and hearing them again brings back great memories. 'Little Girl' has an extra special meaning for me because it's one of the songs my father, who worked with us for many years, worked on with us. All our songs have stood the test of time, and I hope our fans will enjoy this collection."

Keyboardist Jonathan Cain added, "'Escape' was my first album with Journey in 1981 and I never looked back. A lot of the songs in those days were in pieces -- like a puzzle to figure out. The connection we had was magic -- and like a Super Bowl team -- we always found a way to get it right."

As Rolling Stone contributing editor David Wild wrote, "Whether on the radio or on some stage, these well-built tunes remain sturdy crowd pleasers to this very day, in their second century of airplay. Some DJ is playing a Journey song somewhere right now and many more are out there singing along -- you can bet on it."

1. Stone In Love
2. After The Fall
3. Chain Reaction
4. The Party's Over (Hopelessly In Love)
5. Escape
6. Still They Ride
7. Good Morning Girl
8. Stay Awhile
9. Suzanne
10. Feeling That Way
11. Anytime
12. Walks Like A Lady
13. Little Girl
14. Just The Same Way
15. Patiently
16. When I Think Of You
17. Mother, Father (Live In Houston, 1981).

No comments: