Monday, January 12, 2015

Death Cab for Cutie news

Death Cab for Cutie has announced the release of their eighth studio album Kintsugi, due March 31 via Atlantic Recording Group.  

It follows 2011’s Grammy Award-nominated Codes and Keys and marks Death Cab for Cutie’s first new album since the departure last year of founding guitarist, keyboardist, producer Chris Walla.

Recorded in Los Angeles with Rich Costey (Franz Ferdinand, Muse, Interpol), the album takes its title from the Japanese art of repairing broken ceramics with precious metals like gold, silver, and platinum, highlighting cracks rather than hiding them. As such, kintsugi represents a compassionate aesthetic philosophy in which damage and wear are embraced as part of an object’s history.

“Considering what we were going through internally, and with what a lot of the lyrics are about, it had a great deal of resonance for us – the idea of figuring out how to repair breaks and make them a thing of beauty,” says bassist Nick Harmer, who suggested the name to singer/guitarist Ben Gibbard and drummer Jason McGerr. “Philosophically, spiritually, emotionally, it seems perfect for this group of songs.”

An extensive tour schedule will surround the release of the album. For details and ticket information, please log on to

Track listing:

1. No Room In Frame
2. Black Sun
3. The Ghosts Of Beverly Drive
4. Little Wanderer
5. You've Haunted Me All My Life
6. Hold No Guns
7. Everything's A Ceiling
8. Good Help (Is So Hard To Find)
9. El Dorado
10. Ingenue
11. Binary Sea

No comments: