Wednesday, July 5, 2017

Details on solo album by Bloc Party's Kele Okereke

Kele Okereke has announced his new album Fatherland, due for release on Oct. 6 via BMG Music.

It includes duets with Olly Alexander (Years & Years) and Corinne Bailey Rae. His third solo long player alongside his role as frontman of Bloc Party, it is the first under his full name and a sonic departure from the electronics of his previous two solo records, The Boxer and Trick.

A new song from the album, "Streets Been Talking," is available to stream and download now. "Streets Been Talking was one of the first tracks I wrote for the album," says Kele. "It's a bittersweet ode to romance and the passing of time."

Listen to "Streets Been Talking" HERE 

Fatherland was produced by Bloc Party bassist Justin Harris in Portland, Oregon with musicians largely drawn from that city's underground music scene.

"I was listening a lot to Elliott Smith's Either/Or, Pink Moon by Nick Drake, Blue by Joni Mitchell, and the Al Green album, Still in Love With You," says Kele. "Writing these songs and expressing these words and feelings, it's something that's vital for me. I'm recognizing I'm entering into a different part of my life."

Kele's lyrics touch upon the prospect of fatherhood (his daughter Savannah was born last December).

"I'm fully conscious that this record is probably going to serve as a document for Savannah of the relationship between her fathers and who we were before she came into our lives,"says Kele. "It feels important for her to see that we don't have all the answers but we're trying."

Track listing:

1. Overture
2. Streets Been Talking
3. You Keep On Whispering His Name
4. Capers
5. Grounds For Resentment (feat. Olly Alexander)
6. Yemaya
7. Do U Right
8. Versions Of Us (feat. Corinne Bailey Rae)
9. Portrait
10. Road To Ibadan
11. Savannah
12. The New Year Party
13. Royal Reign

No comments: