Thursday, July 7, 2016

The return of Rick Astley

photo: PIP


Rick Astley has announced ‘50,’ his first new album in a decade and his first official US release since 1993’s ‘Body & Soul,’ will arrive Oct. 7 via BMG. It debuted at #1 on the Official Album Chart in the UK last month.

He wrote, produced and performed all of the instruments on this new 12 track collection, the title a nod to Rick’s milestone age. Rick and his band will come to the US for select intimate rare performances in August, more details to be announced soon.

The first pieces of ‘50’ appeared in early 2015, as Rick started penning new songs and structuring them in his home studio. With encouragement from old friends in the music industry he set forth on crafting this 12 song collection.

Lead single “Keep Singing” has over 2 million views on YouTube.

Says Rick: “‘50’ marks both a new chapter in my journey as an artist, and a return to the music I first fell in love with. I could not be more excited to share it with my fans, and take these songs, that have been years in the making, out of the studio and onto the stage.”

With over 40 million records sold and several hits, Astley remains one of the most successful solo artists to have emerged from the United Kingdom, holding the distinction of being the first male solo artist to see his first eight singles reach the UK Top Ten.

Born in Lancashire, Rick was just 21 years old when “Never Gonna Give You Up” became the major hit of 1987. The single reached No. 1 in 16 countries and propelled his debut album ‘Whenever You Need Somebody’ to worldwide sales of 15 million. Rick returned with new work in the early 2000s and began touring again to acclaim and sold-out shows across the globe.

Two music videos for songs from the new album have been revealed...
“Keep Singing”:  
“Angels On My Side”:

Pre-Order 50 on iTunes and Get “Keep Singing” and “Angels On My Side” now:

Track list:

1. Keep Singing
2. Angels On My Side
3. Wish Away
4. This Old House
5. Pieces
6. God Says
7. I Like The Sun
8. Somebody Love Me
9. Let It Rain
10. Pray With Me
11. Coming Home Tonight
12. Let it Be Tonight

No comments: