Wednesday, July 27, 2016

Live OMD recording from the vaults on the way

OMD is the next artist celebrated in Rainman Records' "British Live Performance Series" from the vaults.

Set for release Aug. 26, the show captures the UK synth-pop band on the rise. Recorded in July 1980 for "Rockstage," a series of TV showcases hosted by the Nottingham Theatre Royal, the band shared the stage with the likes of new wavers Joe Jackson and Squeeze to metal heavyweights Motorhead.

OMD formed in 1978 by Andy McCluskey (vocals, bass) and Paul Humphreys (keyboards, vocals) and quickly established themselves on the burgeoning electronic music scene. Gary Numan invited them out on an early tour, and they became an acclaimed live act. OMD would release 12 studio albums and sell over 40 million copies worldwide, with artists such as Depeche Mode and Human League citing them as influences.

OMD continue to make new music, including their latest album, 2013's English Electric. The band recently wrapped a U.S. tour with Howard Jones and Barenaked Ladies.

Track listing:

1. Messages
2. Mystereality
3. Bunker Soldiers
4. Motion & Heart
5. Red Frame/White Light
6. Enola Gay
7. Electricity

Previous titles in Rainman Records' in-progress "British Live Performance Series" have included: Glen Campbell; Rick Wakeman; Belinda Carlisle; Joe Jackson; Uriah Heep; The Buzzcocks; Ten Years After; Asia; Average White Band. More TBA.

No comments: