Friday, June 28, 2013

Fleetwood Mac's early albums reissued

Fleetwood Mac invites you to revisit its early years with two special releases from Reprise Records.

The first is an expanded and remastered edition of Then Play On, Fleetwood Mac’s 1969 debut.

This CD reissue features the original U.K running order and track segues, with “One Sunny Day” and “Without You” making their first appearance on a CD issue of the album, as well as new liner notes by veteran rock journalist David Fricke and four bonus tracks, including the popular single “Oh Well – Pt. 1.”

Fleetwood Mac: 1969-1972
is the second release, A vinyl boxed set, it collects four of the band’s classic albums, each reproduced on 140-gram vinyl. As a bonus, the set comes with an exclusive replica of the original 1969 7-inch single of “Oh Well – Pt. 1” b/w “Oh Well – Pt. 2.”

The band
was already a popular blues entity in 1969 when they released third studio album Then Play On. It was the first with guitarist-songwriter Danny Kirwan and last with founding member Peter Green. The album’s mix of blues and rock includes tracks like “Rattlesnake Shake,” “Searching For Madge” and “Coming Your Way.”

Rhino’s newly re-mastered and expanded edition includes four bonus tracks originally released as singles: parts one and two of “Oh Well,” “The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown)” and “World In Harmony,” which is available on CD for the first time.

features four complete albums – Then Play On (1969), Kiln House (1970), Future Games (1971) and Bare Trees (1972) – housed in a striking black slipcase. To ensure superb sound quality, Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman Mastering cut the lacquers for all four albums. The records look as good as they sound thanks to authentically reproduced packages, including gatefolds for Then Play On and Kiln House and single sleeves for Future Games and Bare Trees.

Track Listing

1. “Coming Your Way”
2. “Closing My Eyes”
3. “Fighting For Madge”
4. “When You Say”
5. “Show Biz Blues”
6. “Underway”
7. “One Sunny Day”
8. “Although The Sun Is Shining”
9. “Rattlesnake Shake”
10. “Without You”
11. “Searching For Madge”
12. “My Dream”
13. “Like Crying”
14. “Before The Beginning”

Bonus Tracks

15. “Oh Well - Pt. 1”
16. “Oh Well - Pt. 2”
17. “The Green Manalishi (With The Two Prong Crown)”
18. “World In Harmony”

FLEETWOOD MAC: 1969-1972

Track Listing 

Then Play On (1969)

Side 1
1. “Coming Your Way”
2. “Closing My Eyes”
3. “Fighting For Madge”
4. “When You Say”
5. “Show Biz Blues”
6. “Underway”
7. “One Sunny Day”

Side 2
1. “Although The Sun Is Shining”
2. “Rattlesnake Shake”
3. “Without You”
4. “Searching For Madge”
5. “My Dream”
6. “Like Crying”
7. “Before The Beginning”

Kiln House (1970)

Side 1
1. “This Is The Rock”
2. “Station Man”
3. “Blood On The Floor”
4. “Hi Ho Silver”
5. “Jewel Eyed Judy”

Side 2
1. “Buddy’s Song”
2. “Earl Gray”
3. “One Together”
4. “Tell Me All The Things You Do”
5. “Mission Bell”

Future Games (1971)

Side 1
1. “Woman Of 1000 Years”
2. “Morning Rain”
3. “What A Shame”
4. “Future Games”

Side 2
1. “Sands Of Time”
2. “Sometimes”
3. “Lay It All Down”
4. “Show Me A Smile”

Bare Trees (1972)

Side 1
1. “Child Of Mine”
2. “The Ghost”
3. “Homeward Bound”
4. “Sunny Side Of Heaven”

Side 2
1. “Bare Trees”
2. “Sentimental Lady”
3. “Danny’s Chant”
4. “Spare Me A Little Of Your Love”
5. “Dust”
6. “Thoughts On A Grey Day”

Bonus 7” Single

Side 1
“Oh Well - Pt. 1”

Side 2
“Oh Well - Pt. 2”

No comments: