Monday, December 3, 2012

The Blue Nile reissues coming in January

'Hats' is one of my faves from the '80s. I look forward to hearing these... 

The Blue Nile’s first two albums, A Walk Across the Rooftops and Hats, have been digitally remastered for the first time by band members Paul Buchanan and Robert Bell with the band’s longtime engineer, Calum Malcolm.

On January 22, Virgin Records will release both albums in expanded 2CD and digital Collector’s Editions with extensive additional audio, including live recordings, rare and previously unreleased tracks, and B-sides.
The Blue Nile was formed in the early Eighties by Glasgow University graduates Paul Buchanan (vocals, guitar), Robert Bell (bass), and Paul Joseph Moore (keyboards). In 1984, their debut album, A Walk Across the Rooftops was released, including the singles “Tinseltown in the Rain” and “Stay.”  

Second album, Hats met with international critical acclaim upon its 1989 release. It entered the UK albums chart at number 12, and its three singles, “The Downtown Lights,” “Headlights on the Parade,” and Saturday Night,” achieved top 75 UK chart status. 
Last month, Buchanan released his acclaimed solo album debut, Mid Air, in the U.S. via Newsroom Records. The U.S. edition includes a bonus disc of alternate takes, a live recording, and remixes from fellow Blue Nile member, Robert Bell.

Released in Europe in May, Mid Air debuted at #14 on the UK chart and garnered high praise from top publications including Mojo, Uncut, Q, The London Sunday Times, The Guardian, and The Independent.  Visit for more details.

Track listing:

A Walk Across the Rooftops

1. A Walk Across the Rooftops
2. Tinseltown in the Rain
3. From Rags to Riches
4. Stay
5. Easter Parade
6. Heatwave
7. Automobile Noise

Bonus CD

1. I Love This Life – the band’s debut single
2. Heatwave – Rhythm Mix
3. St Catherine’s Day – previously unreleased
4. Tinseltown in the Rain – Mix
5. The Second Act – B-side to “I Love This Life” single
6. Stay – Little Mix
7. Regret - B-side to “Tinseltown in the Rain” single


1. Over the Hillside
2. The Downtown Lights
3. Let’s Go Out Tonight
4. Headlights on the Parade
5. From a Late Night Train
6. Seven AM
7. Saturday Night

Bonus CD

1. Seven AM (Live in Studio) - recorded before the end of the Hats sessions
2. Christmas – previously unreleased
3. Let’s Go Out Tonight (Vocal 2) – the second vocal take
4. Saturday Night (Vocal 2, Early Mix) – a working mix with an alternative vocal
5. Headlights on the Parade – live in Tennessee
6. The Wires Are Down – B-side to “The Downtown Lights” single

No comments: