Wednesday, October 23, 2019

Beck's next album 'Hyperspace' due next month; video just out

I'm looking forward to hearing the new music. After a long period on not seeing Beck in concert, I've been fortunate enough to see him three times in the past 12 months (see the reviews elsewhere on this blog).

On Nov. 22, Capitol Records releases Hyperspace, the 14th album from seven-time Grammy-winning musician Beck.

His most collaborative efforts to date, seven of the album's 11 tracks—including single “Uneventful Days” and “Saw Lightning” (as featured in the Beats by Dr. Dre Powerbeats Pro campaign and also included with pre-orders)—feature co-writing and co-production from Pharrell Williams.

Elsewhere in Hyperspace, “See Through” is co-written/co-produced by frequent Beck collaborator Greg Kurstin, “Star” is co-written/co-produced by Paul Epworth, “Stratosphere” features back-up from Chris Martin, the album’s title track features guest vocals from Terrell Hines, and “Die Waiting” is co-written/co-produced by Cole M.G.N. with backing vocals from Sky Ferreira. Longtime Beck bandmates Jason Falkner, Smokey Hormel and Roger Manning Jr. feature on much of the album as well.

The new video for “Uneventful Days,” directed by musician Dev Hynes, has starring turns from Evan Rachel Wood, Tessa Thompson and Alia Shawkat (observant longtime Beck fans will spot the principals’ wardrobe nods to classic entries in the Beck video canon). It can be viewed HERE.

Beck will make two festival headline appearances soon: Oct. 26 at the Voodoo Music + Arts Experience in New Orleans, and Dec. 6 at Intersect in Las Vegas.

Hyperspace is Beck’s first album since 2017’s Colors, which won Best Alternative Music Album and Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical at the 61st Grammy Awards earlier this year. Beck's prolific post-Colors/pre-Hyperspace output has included “Tarantula” from Music Inspired by ROMA, “Super Cool” (featuring Robyn & The Lonely Island) from The LEGO Movie 2, his featured vocal on Cage The Elephant’s “Night Running”—not to mention this past summer’s co-headlining amphitheater tour with Cage The Elephant.

Track listing:

1. Hyperlife
2. Uneventful Days
3. Saw Lightning
4. Die Waiting
5. Chemical
6. See Through
7. Hyperspace
8. Stratosphere
9. Dark Places
10. Star
11. Everlasting Nothing

No comments: