Thursday, August 1, 2019

Iggy Pop gets into a 'Free' musical mode

Iggy Pop has unveiled another track from his upcoming album Free, due Sept. 6 on Loma Vista and available for preorder:

The studio musicians include Faith Vern (voice), Leron Thomas (trumpet), Robin Sherman (bass), Thomas Glass (drums) and Ari Teitel (guitar). 

About the song "James Bond," Pop says, "I’ve never had more fun singing a lyric. Faith’s reading is so loaded, and Leron’s production and trumpet along with the band swings like crazy.” It is available for purchase and/or streaming here:

While Free follows the highest charting album of Iggy’s career, 2016’s Grammy-nominated Post Pop Depression, it has virtually nothing in common sonically with its predecessor—or with any other Iggy Pop album.

On the process that led Iggy, Thomas and Noveller to create the album, Pop says:

"This is an album in which other artists speak for me, but I lend my voice.

"By the end of the tours following Post Pop Depression, I felt sure that I had rid myself of the problem of chronic insecurity that had dogged my life and career for too long.

"But I also felt drained. And I felt like I wanted to put on shades, turn my back, and walk away. I wanted to be free. I know that’s an illusion, and that freedom is only something you feel, but I have lived my life thus far in the belief that that feeling is all that is worth pursuing; all that you need - not happiness or love necessarily, but the feeling of being free.

"So this album just kind of happened to me, and I let it happen."

Track listing:

1. Free
2. Loves Missing
3. Sonali
4. James Bond
5. Dirty Sanchez
6. Glow In The Dark
7. Page
8. We Are The People
9. Do Not Go Gentle Into That Good Night
10. The Dawn

No comments: