Thursday, April 25, 2019

A new archival live album from Neil Young slated for June

Neil Young will release TUSCALOOSA, from his ongoing live archival series, on June 7.

The previously unreleased, 11-track recording features Neil Young with The Stray Gators recorded live at the University of Alabama, Tuscaloosa on February 5th, 1973. The album can be pre-ordered beginning today and is available on vinyl, CD and digitally. A very limited edition bundle will also be available through NYA only and will contain the album along with a Joel Bernstein autographed color litho print of the band live on stage. Click here to pre-order. Those who pre-order the album will receive and instant download of album track "Don't Be Denied." Click here to listen and share the song.

In-between tours with Crazy Horse or solo, Young would switch up his sound to suit the material he would focus on when touring with The Stray Gators between 1971 through 1973. Comprised of Tim Drummond (bass), Kenny Buttrey (drums), Jack Nitzsche (piano) and Ben Keith (steel guitar) this lineup, most notably, would go onto record Harvest and Times Fades Away. Tuscaloosa features live versions of songs from Young's self-titled 1969 debut ("Here We Are In The Years") plus classic songs from his two most commercially successful album of his early career, After The Goldrush (1970) and Harvest (1972).

The album also contains a version of the title track from the live album Time Fades Away that would not surface until later in 1973, as well as songs from the seminal classic Tonight's The Night that would eventually be released in 1975.

TUSCALOOSA was produced by Neil Young, Elliot Mazer and mixed by John Hanlon and mastered by Chris Bellman at Bernie Grundman from the original analogue tapes. The resultant audio sounds as immediate and present as it did the moment it was performed as you hear it. Photographs by Joel Bernstein complete the packaging. TUSCALOOSA will be available as a double album over 3-sides with etched artwork on side 4. The album will also be available on single disc CD and on high resolution digital audio by Young's X-Stream via NYA. Young performs the first two songs solo before being joined by The Stray Gators.

Track listing:

A side:
Here We Are In The Years (3:56)
After The Gold Rush (4:42)
Out On The Weekend (5:29)
Harvest (4:14)

B side:
Old Man (4:17)
Heart Of Gold (3:48)
Time Fades Away (6:10)
Lookout Joe (4:59)

C side:
New Mama (3:01)
Alabama (3:50)
Don't Be Denied (8:09)

Etched artwork

No comments: