Tuesday, January 17, 2017

Spoon has some 'Hot Thoughts'

photo: Zachery Michael
Spoon's ninth album Hot Thoughts will arrive March 17 on Matador Records. 

It reunites the Austin band with the label that released their 1996 debut, Telephono, and following on Spoon’s streak of three consecutive Top 10 albums — Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga (2007), Transference (2010) and They Want My Soul (2014).

Hot Thoughts was co-produced by Spoon and Dave Fridmann. The opening title track is available to stream here or as an instant download with all pre-orders placed at “I Ain’t The One” was recently featured in the penultimate episode of the current season of Showtime’s Shameless.

Having recently sneak previewed Hot Thoughts material in a surprise hometown warm-up, Spoon has also confirmed a three-night release week SXSW residency for which the band will resurrect the original, classic Austin venue Emo's location, currently referred to as "The Main" on March 14-16. The band will curate a unique line up each night and will stubbornly be referring to the venue as "Eno's”.

Track listing: 

1. Hot Thoughts
2. WhisperI'lllistentohearit
3. Do I Have To Talk You Into It
4. First Caress
5. Pink Up
6. Can I Sit Next To You
7. I Ain't The One
8. Tear It Down
9. Shotgun
10. Us

South By Southwest Residency at The Main a/k/a Eno's: 

Tuesday, March 14
Wednesday, March 15
Thursday, March 16

*curated by Spoon with special guests

No comments: