Thursday, August 9, 2012

The Beach Boys compilations, catalog reissues due

The Beach Boys announce plans for the CD and digital release of two new commemorative hits collections by Capitol/EMI on Oct. 9 in North America.

Meanwhile, 12 remastered Beach Boys studio albums will also be released by Capitol/EMI on Sept. 25 in North America.

The Beach Boys’ new 50th Anniversary Greatest Hits collection features 20 of the band’s most popular songs.

A deluxe, career-spanning 2CD box and digital collection titled Greatest Hits: 50 Big Ones will also be released, featuring 50 Beach Boys favorites, including two songs from the band’s new album -- the title track “That’s Why God Made The Radio” and a new single version of “Isn’t It Time,” which will be serviced to radio in September.  The 2CD lift-top box package also includes an expanded booklet with newly written liner notes and seven postcards. 

The 12 Beach Boys studio albums have been digitally remastered by Mark Linett and will be released on CD and digitally, most featuring mono and stereo mixes. They include:

Surfin’ U.S.A.; Surfer Girl; Little Deuce Coupe; Shut Down, Volume 2; All Summer Long; The Beach Boys Today!; Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!); Beach Boys Party!; Pet Sounds; Smiley Smile; Sunflower (stereo mix only); and Surf’s Up (stereo mix only).

These releases mark the stereo debut of Smiley Smile and Beach Boys Party!, while The Beach Boys Today! and Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!) are being released in stereo for the first time in their entirety. The new releases include the first-ever stereo mixes of several key Beach Boys classics, including “Good Vibrations,” “Help Me, Rhonda,” “I Get Around,” and “409,” among others.

On Sept. 18, The Grammy Museum in Los Angeles will launch a special Beach Boys 50th Anniversary exhibit with ‘An Evening With The Beach Boys,’ a public event featuring a Q&A and acoustic performance by Brian Wilson, Mike Love, Al Jardine, Bruce Johnston, and David Marks ( 

A career-spanning Beach Boys 50th Anniversary box set is planned for release later this year by Capitol/EMI. Details about the special commemorative release will be announced soon.

Beach Boys Brian Wilson, Mike Love, Al Jardine, Bruce Johnston, and David Marks reunited this year for an international 50 Anniversary Tour and That’s Why God Made The Radio, the first studio album of new, original Beach Boys songs to feature all of the band’s surviving original members since 1989’s Still Cruisin’. Produced by Brian Wilson and executive produced by Mike Love, the album debuted at #3.

The Beach Boys: Greatest Hits [CD, digital]
1. That's Why God Made The Radio       11. I Get Around
2. California Girls                                   12. Fun, Fun, Fun
3. Sloop John B                                    13. Be True to Your School
4. Wouldn't It Be Nice                            14. Dance, Dance, Dance
5. Surfer Girl                                         15. All Summer Long
6. Do It Again                                        16. Help Me, Rhonda
7. Surfin' Safari                                     17. Rock And Roll Music
8. Surfin' U.S.A.                                    18. God Only Knows
9. Don't Worry Baby                              19. Good Vibrations
10. Little Deuce Coupe                          20. Kokomo

The Beach Boys ‘Greatest Hits: 50 Big Ones’ [2CD, digital]
Disc 1
1. California Girls                                  [Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!)]
2. Do It Again                                        [20/20]
3. Surfin' Safari                                     [Surfin' Safari]
4. Catch a Wave                                   [Surfer Girl]
5. Little Honda                                      [All Summer Long]
6. Surfin' U.S.A.                                    [Surfin’ USA]
7. Surfer Girl                                         [Surfer Girl]
8. Don't Worry Baby                              [Shut Down, Vol. 2]
9. Little Deuce Coupe                           [Surfer Girl]
10. Shut Down                                      [Surfin' USA]
11. I Get Around                                    [All Summer Long]
12. The Warmth of the Sun                   [Shut Down, Vol. 2]
13. Please Let Me Wonder                    [The Beach Boys Today!]
14. Wendy                                              [All Summer Long]
15. Getcha Back                                    [The Beach Boys]
16. The Little Girl I Once Knew              [non-LP single, 1965]
17. When I Grow Up (To Be a Man)       [The Beach Boys Today!]
18. It's OK                                               [15 Big Ones]
19. Dance, Dance, Dance                      [The Beach Boys Today!]
20. Do You Wanna Dance                      [The Beach Boys Today!]
21. Rock And Roll Music                        [15 Big Ones]
22. Barbara Ann                                     [Beach Boys Party!]
23. All Summer Long                              [All Summer Long]
24. Help Me, Rhonda                             [Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!)]
25. Fun, Fun, Fun                                   [Shut Down, Vol. 2]

Disc 2
1. Kokomo                                            [‘Cocktail’ Motion Picture Soundtrack]
2. You’re So Good To Me                     [Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!)]
3. Wild Honey                                       [Wild Honey]
4. Darlin'                                               [Wild Honey]
5. In My Room                                      [Surfer Girl]
6. All This Is That                                  [Carl and the Passions “So Tough”]
7. This Whole World                              [Sunflower]
8. Add Some Music To Your Day           [Sunflower]
9. Cotton Fields                                     [non-LP single, 1970]
10. I Just Wasn’t Made For These Times [Pet Sounds]
11. Sail on, Sailor                                  [Holland]
12. Surf's Up                                         [Surf's Up]
13. Friends                                            [Friends]
14. Heroes and Villains                         [Smiley Smile]
15. I Can Hear Music                            [20/20]
16. Good Timin'                                     [L.A. (Light Album)]
17. California Saga (On My Way to Sunny Californ-I-A)    [Holland]
18. Isn't It Time (single version)            [That’s Why God Made The Radio]
19. Kiss Me, Baby                                 [The Beach Boys Today!]
20. That's Why God Made The Radio  [That’s Why God Made The Radio]
21. Forever                                           [Sunflower]
22. God Only Knows                             [Pet Sounds]
23. Sloop John B                                  [Pet Sounds]
24. Wouldn't It Be Nice                         [Pet Sounds]
25. Good Vibrations                              [Smiley Smile]

No comments: