Wednesday, September 6, 2017

Stereophonics news

photo: Andrew Whitton
Twenty years after their debut ‘Word Gets Around,’ Stereophonics are set to release new album 'Scream Above The Sounds' on Oct. 27 through Parlophone Records.

Their 10th studio release, ‘Scream Above The Sounds’ follows ‘Keep The Village Alive’ which went to #1 in 2015 – their sixth UK chart-topper after ‘Performance and Cocktails’ (1999), ‘Just Enough Education To Perform’ (2001) ‘You Gotta Go There To Come Back’ (2003), ‘Language. Sex. Violence. Other?’ (2005) and ‘Pull The Pin’ (2007).

Stereophonics consists of founding members Kelly Jones (vocals/guitar) and Richard Jones (bass) along with Adam Zindani (guitar) and Jamie Morrison (drums). Long-term keyboardist Tony Kirkham joins the band for live shows.

Kelly said of the songwriting process that he began to write “big, anthemic songs that are rallying against those anxious feelings that have flooded through cities. Every song offers a sense of release,” he says. “Even when there’s nostalgia, fear or anxiety, they’re still all offering hope and room to manoeuvre.”

First single ‘All In One Night’ represents the band’s affection for the melancholy. It finds the narrator’s life taking a dramatic turn as night brightens to day. Influenced by the Sebastian Schipper film ‘Victoria,’ it’s a song that had an unusual genesis – Kelly started it when the band had an unscheduled day’s stay in China before he finished it back home in London. Even the atmospheric call of the chorus was fortuitous, being an adaptation of a vocal exercise he was using.

‘Scream Above The Sounds’ was primarily recorded in the band’s HQ in west London with a further session at RAK Studios and created with the help of regular collaborator Jim Lowe.

It will be released on digital (standard and deluxe), CD (standard and deluxe) and vinyl formats. It’s available to pre-order from with ‘All In One Night’ provided as an instant download. 

‘Caught By the Wind’ made its television debut on TODAY with a performance in the New York studio – watch here. Its performance video was directed by Joe Connor (Coldplay, The Maccabees, Elbow).

‘All In One Night’: 
Watch the 'Caught By the Wind' video: 

Track listing:

1. ‘Caught By The Wind’ 
2. ‘Taking A Tumble’ 
3. ‘What’s All The Fuss About?’ 
4. ‘Geronimo’ 
5. ‘All In One Night’ 
6. ‘Chances Are’ 
7. ‘Before Anyone Knew Our Name’ 
8. ‘Would You Believe?’ 
9. ‘Cryin’ In Your Beer’ 
10. ‘Boy On A Bike’ 
11. ‘Elevators’ 

Bonus tracks on the deluxe edition: 

12. ‘Never Going Down’ (live at RAK Studios) 
13. ‘Drive A Thousand Miles’ (‘Graffiti…’ sessions) 
14. ‘Breaking Dawn’ (written for ‘Twilight’) 
15. ‘All In One Night’ (unplugged) 
16. ‘Caught By The Wind’ (unplugged)

No comments: