Friday, April 3, 2015

Ash back with new material in May

Ash has announced sixth album Kablammo – due out May 26 via Edel/earMusic in the US. It is the band’s first full-length studio effort since 2007's Twilight Of The Innocents. First single “Cocoon” will impact radio on April 6. 

In addition, there is a headlining show June 3 at Rough Trade in Brooklyn and a June 4 gig with Ride at Terminal 5 in NYC.

When asked about the first single drummer Rick McMurray says, “It’s Ash at their frenetic best, a wall of guitars and a shot of adrenaline with a sweet melodic chaser.”

The members set out to capture the live essence of Ash, the closest sonic predecessor being 2004’s Meltdown, they say, with the songwriting of the Free All Angels singles. “We've stripped away the electronic overtones of the A-Z series and made a streamlined blazing guitar record.”

After Twilight Of The Innocents, which Ash vowed would be their last, came the A-Z singles series and its accompanying A-Z tour. “A-Z was a great exercise in creativity and we stand by our choice to do it but we still love the album format. Stepping away from it for eight years has given us a new found love for the format and it's been really exciting to get back to thinking about music in that way again.”

Kablammo marks a return to the album format. The title itself sums up the excitement the band felt “to be in a room together making new music. You can hear that on every song.” Furthermore they feel that the 12-track album is proof that they’ve, “finally bridged the gap between our live show and the recording.”

Look for more US dates to be announced soon.

Track listing:

1. Cocoon
2. Let’s Ride
3. Machinery
4. Free
5. Go! Fight! Win!
6. Moondust
7. Evil Knievel
8. Hedonism
9. Dispatch
10. Shutdown
11. For Eternity
12. Bring Back The Summer

No comments: