Monday, August 7, 2017

Neil Young to put out unreleased 1976 album

Neil Young will open his archive and release Hitchhiker, an unreleased new studio album. The release date is Sept. 8 on Reprise Records - it will be available on vinyl, CD and digitally.

The 10-track acoustic solo album was recorded in Malibu, CA at Indigo Studio in 1976. The original session was produced by Young's long-time studio collaborator David Briggs. Pre-order for Hitchhiker has started. Go here for details:

Recorded between Zuma and American Stars and Bars as a solo album in a single session, only Young, Briggs and actor Dean Stockwell were in the room at the time of recording. A few of the songs would not appear on vinyl until years later.

Some have never been heard, included in the original sessions for Neil Young and Crazy Horse's Dume, another unreleased record of original sessions that yielded the classic album, Zuma. When the Hitchhiker album was recorded, none of the included songs had ever been released and many of the performances of the songs were the first ever.  performances.

Track listing:

Side One: 

1. Pocahontas 
2. Powderfinger 
3. Captain Kennedy
4. Hawaii 

5. Give Me Strength

Side Two:
1. Ride My Llama
2. Hitchhiker
3. Campaigner
4. Human Highway
5. The Old Country Waltz

No comments: