Tuesday, August 15, 2017

Jake Bugg's 'Hearts That Strain' due out soon

Jake Bugg releases his new album Hearts That Strain on Sept. 1 via Island Records. It is available for pre-order. The first single is “How Soon The Dawn,” a collaboration with Dan Auerbach. Watch the video HERE.

The album was produced by David Ferguson, who shared this year’s Best Country Album Grammy for Sturgill Simpson’s A Sailor’s Guide To Earth. Also in the studio was guitarist Matt Sweeney, who collaborated on Jake’s 2013 album, Shangri La. Guest vocalist on “Waiting” is Noah Cyrus, daughter of Billy Ray and sister of Miley.

Auerbach (who Jake supported on tour) also played on “I Can Burn Alone” and “In The Event Of My Demise.” Elsewhere, veteran keyboardist Bobby Wood and drummer Gene Chrisman contribute. They've played on thousands of sessions (Elvis Presley, Dusty Springfield).

“They’re old guys but they’re amazing,” Jake says. “It was ten to five and then that’s it. They'd pack up and we’d done two or three tunes. It was a mad vibe being from England and meeting these absolute legends and then cutting some tracks with them.”

Jake (now 23) was 18 years old when he became the youngest male artist in UK chart history to debut at #1 with his first album, Jake Bugg, released on Island U.S. in April 2013.

“Lightning Bolt,” Jake’s first U.S. single received major exposure via Gator­ade TV spots.

Shangri La followed in November 2013, produced by Rick Rubin at Shangri La Studios in Malibu, California. Jake toured non-stop in support of the album, including a 13-city headlining North American tour, every date sold-out in advance. June 2016 brought Jake’s third album, On My One, self-produced with Jacknife Lee joining for a handful of tracks. In addition, Jake’s “Lighting Bolt” was used this year on TV spots for the Mini Cooper Countryman.

Track listing:

1. How Soon The Dawn
2. Southern Rain
3. In The Event Of My Demise
4. This Time
5. Waiting
6. Man On The Stage
7. Hearts That Strain
8. I Can Burn Alone
9. Indigo Blue
10. Bigger Lover
11. Every Colour In The World

No comments: